Annual Congregational Meeting October 8, 2023 The Rev. Dr. Julia Leeth, moderating

The annual congregational meeting of Grace Presbyterian Church of Houston was held on October 8, 2023 at 10:30 am. After declaring a quorum present, Julia called the meeting to order and opened with prayer.

The following items were on the agenda:

- 1. Election of six Grace covenant partners to the office of ruling Elder
- 2. Election of 12 Grace covenant partners to the office of Deacon
- 3. Election of two Grace covenant partners to serve as Church Officer Nominating Committee congregational representatives

ITEM 1: Election of Elders Class of 2026

Julia reminded those present that only Grace Covenant Partners are eligible to vote.

Julia then introduced Cathy Finck, Chair of the Church Officer Nominating Committee, who described the election process and presented the report of the committee. Cathy introduced and thanked the members of the Church Nominating Committee: Nnenna Akwari, Candy Aldridge, Deb Castillo, Martha Hunt, Holden Mayo, Michelle McGuirt, Matt Meade, Brian Mees and Jo Swank.

The Church Officer Nominating Committee nominated the following candidates to stand for election to the position of ruling Elder Class of 2026. Candidates' names appeared in the bulletin and were displayed on the screen in the Sanctuary.

Elder nominees are:

- Nnenna Akwari
- Sarah Easterling
- Morris Harper
- Judy Prisk
- Rick Sell
- Karen Welton

In addition to these candidates, Julia reminded the congregation that they could also nominate candidates from the floor. Any new candidates would be nominated for a specific position, and they would then run against the one of the candidates nominated by the Church Officer Nominating Committee.

There were no additional nominations nor discussion from the floor. A vote was called to elect these candidates to the position of Elder for the Class of 2026. A motion was made and seconded. The congregation voted in favor of electing these candidates.

ITEM 2: ELECTION OF DEACONS

Cathy Finck reported that the Church Officer Nominating Committee nominated the following candidates to stand for election to the position of Deacon Class of 2026:

- Maggie Gardner
- Tricia Jackson
- Candy Jones
- Daniel Malaguilla
- Serge Mefan
- Mallie Prejean
- Georgene Quirke
- Karen Rhoden
- Terrelyn Teinert
- Cindy Thomas
- Daniela Villanueva
- Amy Wisniewski

Julia reminded the members of the congregation that they may also nominate candidates from the floor. There being no additional nominations, or discussion of the candidates, a vote was called to elect the candidates listed to the position of Deacon for the Class of 2026. A motion was made and seconded. The congregation voted in favor of electing these candidates.

ITEM 3: ELECTION OF CHURCH OFFICER NOMINATING COMMITTEE MEMBERS

The Church Officer Nominating Committee is composed of three active elder representatives appointed by the Session along with six representatives elected by the congregation. The six people elected by the Congregation are divided into three Classes of two people, each serving a three-year term. The members of the Congregation were asked to elect two people to the committee. The Session nominated:

- 1. Dawn Murphy Class of 2026
- 2. Beth Craig Class of 2026

Julia reminded the members of the congregation that they may also nominate candidates from the floor. There being no additional nominations or discussion, a vote was called to elect the candidates named to the Church Officer Nominating Committee Class of 2026. A motion was made and seconded. The congregation voted in favor of electing these candidates.

Respectfully submitted,

Candy clarke Aldridge

Candy Clarke Aldridge Clerk of Session